Our District

Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option

The Moraga-Orinda Fire Protection District was formed in 1997 as an integrated independent special district. MOFD was formed through the consolidation of the Moraga Fire Protection District and the Orinda Fire Protection District to provide more efficient fire protection and emergency medical services to the communities of Moraga and Orinda and the surrounding unincorporated areas, including the communities of Canyon and Bollinger Canyon.

The District is located nine (9) miles east of San Francisco in southwest Contra Costa County. It is bordered by the cities of Berkeley and Oakland to the west, the City of Lafayette to the east, and large open spaces, reservoirs, and regional parks to the north and south. The District is a fully-paid, “all-risk” fire service agency with 64 regular employees, six (6) temporary employees and 30 volunteers, including five (5) Board of Directors. The district encompasses 42 square miles, protecting approximately 38,500 residents in a combination of urban city centers; metropolitan, urban, suburban, and rural residential housing areas; a major college campus; and a mix of large regional parks, open spaces, reservoirs, and recreation areas. 

There are approximately 14,091 parcels within the District. A large portion of north Orinda and several other smaller portions throughout the District are within areas designated by the State as Very High Fire Hazard Severity Zones. 
The District responds to over 3,000 incidents annually from five fire stations, which house five paramedic engine companies, one (cross-staffed) paramedic truck company, four paramedic ambulances (3 cross-staffed), and one Battalion Chief.